Finally recovered: My bungee video from Victoria Falls

This is what pure fear looks like.

Two and a half years ago I was stupid enough to launch myself from a one-hundred-and-ten-metre tall bridge. It was both the most terrifying and most exhilarating moment of my life.

A little over a week ago, 22-year-old Perth woman Erin Langworthy completed the exact same jump, from the Victoria Falls bridge which connects Zambia to Zimbabwe.

Both Langworthy and I lived to tell the tale.

But that’s not all we share in common; both Langworthy and myself thought we were going to die.

To compare the experiences of Langworthy to myself is probably unfair; after all, her rope snapped, forcing her to swim to safety through the grade five rapids of the crocodile-infested Zambezi waters (see video above).

Hardly conscious, but at least my rope isn’t broken.

My rope, meanwhile, didn’t snap. The worst pain I experienced was a pretty severe wedgie.

Nevertheless, I can empathise with Langworthy. If my successful bridge jump was this frightening, I can only imagine what she went through.

If you’re reading this, Ms. Langworthy, congratulations – you are officially the luckiest woman to have ever lived.

Jul 09 – Diary entry from KevInAfrica

