The Zeroties (the naughties sounds too… naughty) – Greatest Hits

So… we’ve come to the end of a decade. Now what do we do?

My personal answer to that question is simple: write a blog. That way I can reflect on stuff and entertain myself in the process. But what do I write about? If I merely reflect on my life’s ponderings on the decade nobody in their right mind (except for the few people seemingly obsessed with me) would even bother to read my work. Hence, I’ve decided to look back on something that everybody can relate to: music. The following is a list of the 10 most memorable albums and songs of the past ten years, in my highly biased and subjective opinion. Agree with me if you like, but you probably won’t. Argue with me if you like, but I won’t get personally offended. Enjoy…

THE TEN MOST MEMORABLE SONGS (In no specific order)

 

Viva La Vida by Coldplay

To be honest I have absolutely no idea what this song is about. But that doesn’t matter, coz it’s an amazing number. Musically Viva La Vida is not spectacular in the slightest, however Coldplay milk it for all its worth by adding layer upon layer of instruments to build a comprehensive wall of sound. When I first heard Viva I was so absorbed in the sound that I immediately emailed my brother (in South America at the time) with news that the greatest song in the history of existence had just been written.

Catch My Disease by Ben Lee (a.k.a. Travis Gill)

I’ve always maintained that if there’s one person in the world that I hope is immunised against harmful infections its Ben Lee. Otherwise this cheerful song about Sleepy Jackson on the radio and gardens being secret compartments would not be so joyful after all. As cheesy as it is, Catch My Disease was one of the few songs of the decade that sought to highlight the positivity of this world. But more importantly it had a riff so irresistible that I used it as auditory ammunition against my entire Year 11 music class.

Hey Ya by Outkast

There’s something about Hey Ya that is special; play the song at a party or gig and within seconds everybody will be excited. It may not be a particularly serious song but that’s the beauty of the music of this decade; even the sternest music critics were full of praise for this largely light-hearted tune that dedicated a whole verse for the ladies to ‘Shake it like a Polaroid picture’. For those still unconvinced, check out *’s cover on Youtube.

One Crowded Hour by Augie March

Whenever I sing along to One Crowded Hour whilst playing piano my Mum grumbles at me, requesting that I play something with a more dynamic vocal line. Subsequently I sit shocked at my mother’s musical ignorance. Augie March may not be the most contemporary of musical groups, however the frontman’s Bob Dylan-esque voice leads this song through a progressive build up. By the end you are left in awe as the band converts this seemingly simple song into a rock’n’roll classic.

Bomb The World by Michael Franti

While Bush controlled the White House musicians shared the burden of criticising his every move. Michael Franti didn’t need to namedrop for his point to be made; the powerful lyrics of ‘We can bomb the world to pieces, but we can’t bomb it into peace’ provide a potent and unforgettable message. Once again, pacifism was made cool.

Short Skirt Long Jacket by Cake

For years the basic formula for producing good music was beautiful vocals. Cake completely changed that equation with Short Skirt, a song led by droning yet contagious vocals. The singer’s blunt lyrics, backed up by an addictive bass riff, providing an unlikely anthem for single men all over the world.

Stronger by Kanye West (featuring Daft Punk)

I can’t consider myself a Kanye fan, however – for reasons I am yet to understand – I can’t get enough of Stronger. Daft Punk have been making dance easy on the ears for a while and in this collaboration they brought mainstream hip-hop to a broader market. As the decade wore on the trend of mixing genres continued, exemplified in…

Human by The Killers

Forget the lyrics. One can be human and dancer; the two aren’t independent of each other. One of the most popular rock groups of the decade The Killers are admired by night clubbers to indie freaks and punks and their music – particularly Human – embraces how rock can draw influences from almost anywhere. Certainly a sound of things to come, whether we like it or not.

The Nosebleed Section by Hilltop Hoods

Reflecting on the ‘00s without acknowledging Aussie hip-hop would be musical sacrilege… well, in Australia anyway. Hilltop Hoods arguably paved the way for many aspiring hip-hop artists to break their way onto the mainstream scene and The Nosebleed Section was the catalyst.

Are You Gonna Be My Girl? By Jet

Some say they sound exactly like AC/DC. The same people probably think Enya sounds like AC/DC. While they have their critics, Jet brought rock’n’roll back onto bad radio stations and hence subtly improved work conditions for men working in warehouses all over the nation. People all over the globe appreciated what Jet had to offer, so much so that it’s virtually impossible to avoid the song these days.

Of course there were other songs. Probably close to 2 million other songs. But in 10 years time there’s no doubt the songs above will still be on my iPod (or whatever is the latest music accessory in 2019).

Click here for the top 10 memorable albums

